Architectural Engineering TechnologyBuilding Efficiency & Sustainable Technology (BEST)Construction TechnologyDesign for the WebFine ArtsGraphic DesignInterior Design
Resources

Co-operative Education Program/Internship

Co-operative Education is available in the following programs: Architectural Engineering Technology, Construction Technology, Design for the Web, Fine Arts, Graphic Design, Interior Design, Studio Arts.

One of the challenges facing students as they prepare to enter the workforce is how to get a job without experience. Since one cannot get experience without first having a job, it can become a frustrating dilemma. NCC has a solution; Cooperative Education can break the vicious cycle.

Through NCC’s Cooperative Education Program, employers hire students who are nearing graduation and ready to begin their careers. The students can work part-time or full-time and receive college credit for the work experience they gain. The beauty of the program is that is serves as a bridge between college and career. Students gain experience before graduating, and they are introduced to the work force while they are still capable of upgrading their educational portfolios. Employers get the benefit of being able to meet ambitious people with the latest and most up-to-date skills, fresh from college.

Co-op prerequisites

For more information about Co-operative Education at NCC, visit ncc.commnet.edu/dept/coop/default.asp or contact Eleanor Bascom by phone: 857-3338, or email: ebascom@ncc.commnet.edu, or just stop by West 113 to learn more.

Graphic Design Co-op placements have included the following companies:

341 Studios 341studios.com
Acorn Press acorn-online.com
Air Age Media airage.com
Alexander Isley alexanderisley.com
Belvoir Media Group belvoir.com
Bonnie Marcus Collection bonniemarcus.com
New Canaan Nature Center newcanaannature.org
Ryan Partnership ryanpartnership.com
Soundprints soundprints.com
The Hour thehour.com
Voices of September 11th voicesofseptember11.org
Worldwide Wrestling Entertainment wwe.com

 

Cost

NCC is a great deal. For more information, visit ncc.commnet.edu/dept/records/tuition.asp

 

Career Services - Student Success Center

The Norwalk Community College Student Success Center provides an array of student services and guidance to help every student achieve their dreams. We are here to help you clarify, and achieve your career, academic personal and educational goals. We also conduct workshops throughout the semester designed to help you achieve academic and personal success. Come in today to make an individual appointment or sign up for our great success workshops. The Student Success Center, located in East 107, is open Monday to Thursday 9:00am-5:00pm, and Friday 9:00am-4:00pm.
 
For more information, visit ncc.commnet.edu/dept/counselingcenter/default.asp

 

Student Activities

Art Club
The purpose of the Art Club is to enrich the college student’s experiences in art through exposure to a variety of art related activities. The Art Club sponsors events such as open figure drawing sessions, museum trips, lectures, studio visits and art workshops.

The Voice
The Voice, NCC’s student-run newspaper, publishes ten times per year and offers another opportunity for those in Graphic Design and Studio Arts to learn new skills. Student design and content ranges from graphics and cartooning, to photo features and essays. Students with interest in these areas are encouraged to join. Meeting times are posted outside Room E115. For more info about the Voice contact Professor Lori Soderlind, Faculty Advisor, 857-7279 lsoderlind@ncc.commnet.edu or Professor Joan Fitzsimmons, Photo Advisor, 857-7196 jfitzsimmons@ncc.commnet.edu

 

Lois Dreyer